Cash Crash Jubilee

Debut novel by Eli K.P. William, book one of the Jubilee Cycle trilogy
In a near future Tokyo, every action—from blinking to sexual intercourse—is intellectual property owned by corporations that charge licensing fees. A BodyBank computer system implanted in each citizen records their movements from moment to moment, and connects them to the audio-visual overlay of the ImmaNet, so that every inch of this cyber-dystopian metropolis crawls with information and shifting cinematic promotainment.
Amon Kenzaki works as a Liquidator for the Global Action Transaction Authority. His job is to capture bankrupt citizens, remove their BodyBank, and banish them to BankDeath Camps where they are forever cut off from the action-transaction economy. Amon always plays by the rules and is steadily climbing the Liquidation Ministry ladder.
With his savings accumulating and another promotion coming, everything seems to be going well, until he is asked to cash crash a charismatic politician and model citizen, and soon after is charged for an incredibly expensive action called “jubilee” that he is sure he never performed. To restore balance to his account, Amon must unravel the secret of jubilee, but quickly finds himself asking dangerous questions about the system to which he’s devoted his life, and the costly investigation only drags him closer and closer to the pit of bankruptcy.

Buy The Paperback

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Books-A-Million
Indie Bound
Rakuten

Buy The Ebook

Kindle
Nook
Kobo
iBook

Buy The Hardcover

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Books-A-Million
Indie Bound
Rakuten

Buy The Audible Audiobook

Amazon Audible

Praise For Cash Crash Jubilee

“Debut novelist William reverses the outsider perspective of cyberpunk in this intricate tale of a digitally claustrophobic future.”
Publishers Weekly

“As entertaining as the works by American-Canadian science fiction giant William Gibson.”
Japan Times

Cash Crash Jubilee is a fun, smart read, a great way to start a trilogy of novels.
Amazing Stories

Cash Crash Jubilee is utterly fascinating, from cover to cover… a trove of insanity and wonder, all in one place.”
BiblioSanctum

“Cash Crash Jubilee is the first book in a trilogy that promises to be a notable contribution to a long and distinguished tradition.”
—Peter Tasker, Japan financial guru and author of Dragon Dance

“This is a page-turner that is more of a mystery than science fiction. Readers will want to know what “Jubilee” really means just as much as Amon. Just remember to get to sleep and avoid being “discreditible.”
The Japan News (Yomiuri Shimbun)

サイバーパンクと日本的な風景は、ギブソンやブレードランナーを引き合いに出すまでもなく、本作においてもとてもよくマッチしているように感じる。
—SFマガジン (2015年10月号)

“The defining dystopia for our time.”
Barnes & Noble Sci Fi & Fantasy Blog

“Eli K. P. William’s book is prophetic and chilling in the best of ways, darkly sardonic yet filled with compassion.”
—Gordon Dahlquist, author of The Glass Book of the Dream Eaters

“Cash Crash Jubilee is a roller-coaster ride of action and political speculation, all set against a vivid urban backdrop lit by total corporate domination of human life. William leverages the details of near-future dystopian Tokyo to superb critical effect. A terrific debut!”
—Mark Kingwell, author of Concrete Reveries and The World We Want

“What is truly phenomenal about Cash Crash Jubilee, and what has held my attention, is the world building. Everything is explained, described, or illustrated in a way that makes sure the reader is never confused, but that also doesn’t hinder the development of the plot in any way. It’s an action-packed techno thriller. And after reading it, I’ll never take something as simple as staring up at the night sky for granted again.”
BookRiot

“Combines 1984’s brutal totalitarianism and Brave New World’s seductive consumerism. Its premise is both horrifying and ridiculous. Is it a satire or a thriller? It works brilliantly as either.”
—John Love, author of Faith and Evensong

“A one-way bullet train into a bizarre but chillingly plausible future. A brilliant debut!”
—Jesse Bullington, author of The Sad Tale of the Brothers Grossbart and The Folly of the World

“A stunning debut novel, a glorious and disturbing view of a strange new world that could easily become our new world. Fans of Neal Stephenson and William Gibson will find much to enjoy in Cash Crash Jubilee.”
—Wayne Arthurson, author of Fall From Grace and A Killing Winter

Cash Crash Jubilee is a story that deserves your undivided attention.
Scifi Gazette

I’ll admit that I was skeptical at first but I was quickly won over by Cash Crash Jubilee’s cyberpunky premise about a future where corporations monetize every single action we take. I’m recommending this sci-fi thriller to all my friends because once you start down this road of corruption, consumerism and intrigue; you won’t stop until you hit the finish line. One of the most original books I’ve read this year!
—Science Fiction Book Club