The Naked World

カナダ人作家・和英翻訳家イーライ・K・P・ウィリアムの東京を舞台にしたディストピア系SFシリーズ『The Jubilee Cycle』3部作の第2作「The Naked World」(ザ・ネケッド・ワールド)。

デジタルイメージが剥がされ、「ImmaNet」の映像音声オーバーレイが取り払われて剥き出しになった世界、丸裸のネケッド・ワールドで目が覚めた剣崎亜文。ジュビリーの謎の唯一の手がかりとなる人物、ラッシャナ・バーラを捜し出すために「夢区」に入り込まなればならないが、それまで頼ってきたアプリや情報ツールを突然奪われた身では、世界一大きな銀行死亡収容所を横断することは気が遠くなるような苦難だ。

銀行死亡者の大勢が窮屈な道という道に殺到し、絶え間なく砕け散る使い捨て高層ビル(ディスポスクレーパー)でできた儚い迷路。迷い込んで間もなくすると、経済的救世を教義とする「機会科学」(オポチュニティ・サイエンス)と呼ばれる新興宗教と、貧困層の支援という名目を掲げて強欲な企みを隠している「慈善企業連合 」(フィランソロピー・シンジケート)という二つの危険な組織の間に板ばさみになる。

収容所の条件を改善するように真剣に励んでいるコミュニティー、「クセノシスト」に庇護を求め、自分が陥ったばかりの貧困の本当の意味を教えてくれた新しい仲間の活動に一身を捧げる。しかし、政治勢力がコミュニティーの存在とメンバーの命を脅かすこととなると、それまでに仕えた行為取引市場の凶悪な秘密を暴露するために、自動販売機のデザイナーやオリンピックランナー、不妊治療の研究者、財界の大物など様々な人物と一丸となって立ち向かわなければならない。

ディストピア化した東京のどん底に閉じ込められたのけ者の運命と、金融的な障壁を乗り越えて彼らを救おうとする主人公の奮闘を描いた、『Cash Crash Jubilee』の待望の続編。

電子書籍版を買う

Kindle
Kobo
Nook

ハードカバーを買う

Amazon

絶賛の数々

“While a completely original work, characters in ‘The Naked World’ — part two of the ‘Jubilee Cycle’ trilogy — face predicaments evocative of works by Jonathan Swift, Aldous Huxley, Philip K. Dick, George Orwell and Stephen King.”
The Japan Times

“The sequel to Cash Crash Jubilee returns to a world pulled straight from the best episode of Black Mirror never made.”
B&N Sci-Fi and Fantasy Blog

第一作『Cash Crash Jubilee』について

サイバーパンクと日本的な風景は、ギブソンやブレードランナーを引き合いに出すまでもなく、本作においてもとてもよくマッチしているように感じる。
—SFマガジン (2015年10月号)

“Debut novelist William reverses the outsider perspective of cyberpunk in this intricate tale of a digitally claustrophobic future.”
Publishers Weekly

“As entertaining as the works by American-Canadian science fiction giant William Gibson.”
Japan Times

Cash Crash Jubilee is a fun, smart read, a great way to start a trilogy of novels.
Amazing Stories

“Cash Crash Jubilee is the first book in a trilogy that promises to be a notable contribution to a long and distinguished tradition.”
—Peter Tasker, Japan financial guru and author of Dragon Dance

Cash Crash Jubilee is utterly fascinating, from cover to cover… a trove of insanity and wonder, all in one place.”
BiblioSanctum

“The defining dystopia for our time.”
Barnes & Noble Sci Fi & Fantasy Blog

“Eli K. P. William’s book is prophetic and chilling in the best of ways, darkly sardonic yet filled with compassion.”
—Gordon Dahlquist, author of The Glass Book of the Dream Eaters

“Cash Crash Jubilee is a roller-coaster ride of action and political speculation, all set against a vivid urban backdrop lit by total corporate domination of human life. Writing in the tradition of Dick and Gibson, Eli K. P. William leverages the details of near-future dystopian Tokyo to superb critical effect. A terrific debut!”
—Mark Kingwell, author of Concrete Reveries and The World We Want

“What is truly phenomenal about Cash Crash Jubilee, and what has held my attention, is the world building. Everything is explained, described, or illustrated in a way that makes sure the reader is never confused, but that also doesn’t hinder the development of the plot in any way. It’s an action-packed techno thriller. And after reading it, I’ll never take something as simple as staring up at the night sky for granted again.”
BookRiot

“Combines 1984’s brutal totalitarianism and Brave New World’s seductive consumerism. Its premise is both horrifying and ridiculous. Is it a satire or a thriller? It works brilliantly as either.”
—John Love, author of Faith and Evensong

“A one-way bullet train into a bizarre but chillingly plausible future. A brilliant debut!”
—Jesse Bullington, author of The Sad Tale of the Brothers Grossbart and The Folly of the World

“A stunning debut novel, a glorious and disturbing view of a strange new world that could easily become our new world. Fans of Neal Stephenson and William Gibson will find much to enjoy in Cash Crash Jubilee.”
—Wayne Arthurson, author of Fall From Grace and A Killing Winter

Cash Crash Jubilee is a story that deserves your undivided attention.
Scifi Gazette

I’ll admit that I was skeptical at first but I was quickly won over by Cash Crash Jubilee’s cyberpunky premise about a future where corporations monetize every single action we take. I’m recommending this sci-fi thriller to all my friends because once you start down this road of corruption, consumerism and intrigue; you won’t stop until you hit the finish line. One of the most original books I’ve read this year!
—Science Fiction Book Club